Ayurveda describes health as the state in which all the bodily functions take place in perfect harmony and when there is mental and spiritual well-being. Whenever there is an imbalance in any of the primary conditions of health, diseases set in.

There are mainly three methods of diagnosis in Ayurveda:

  • Darsana Pareeksha- Observing the patient’s physical signs and symptoms such as the complexion of the skin, hair, eyes, behaviour etc. 
  • Prasna Pareeksha – Understanding the condition of the patient by asking questions regarding medical history, symptoms etc. 
  • Sparsana Pareeksha – Checking the pulse, palpitation, percussion and auscultation

Pulse diagnosis or Nadi Pareeksha, which involves the physician feeling the pulse of the patient, is one of the best methods to get a clear picture of the body’s present condition.

Diagnosis can be carried out either through eight steps or ten steps.

Ashta Sthana Pareeksha (Eight step Diagnosis)

  • Nadi (Pulse diagnosis) 
  • Jihwa (Examination of tongue) 
  • Malam ( Examination of stool) 
  • Mootram (Examination of urine) 
  • Sabdam (Examination of voice) 
  • Sparsanam (Examination of Body Temperature) 
  • Drik (Examination of eye balls) 
  • Akriti (Examination of the physique)

Dasa Vidha Pareeksha (Ten step diagnosis)

  • Dooshyam ( Examination of the seven Dhatus and Doshas) 
  • Desam (Examination of the surroundings) 
  • Balam (Examination of strength) 
  • Kalam (Examination of season) 
  • Analam (Examination of Agni) 
  • Prakruti (Examination of Body Constitution) 
  • Vayas (Examination of Age) 
  • Satwam (Examination of Mental Power) 
  • Satmyam (Examination of compatibility) 
  • Aharam (Examination of food habits)